you're reading...
Nicaragua, observations

the horse and the cell phone

Coming back from the beach on Friday, one of my classmates remarked on a strange juxtaposition we passed. There was a young man riding a horse whose tack composed of a mix of traditional and nylon ropes, riding down a cobble stone street, talking on a cell phone. We all laughed at the observation, because once it was pointed out, it did seem rather absurd.

My experience in Nicaragua has been a series of these strange juxtapositions. Wi-Fi everywhere, but no electricity for days; large luxurious rental homes on the hill out of town, barrios on the main road out of town; carts pulled by oxen and horses one way, passed by luxury SUV’s; the apparent lack of addresses, and the prevalence of cell phones; women washing laundry by hand because they lack a washer, but the TV’s on every night (and a lot of the day in my house).

Development is such an interesting beast. We long for certain conveniences, put priority on others, and make due without basic needs. One of my classmates questioned why people had TV’s and yet didn’t fix the holes in their walls, I questioned the need to fill the holes in the walls (after all it increases air flow and thus decreases temperatures- and to be fare, I’m not sure exactly what holes she was speaking of…). Why wouldn’t people want TV’s and cell phones? After all we’ve exported the idea that these material possessions are important.

I appreciate these juxtapositions, because these opportunities give me a chance to challenge my notions of needs and wants, of development, and the things I really appreciate.

I came across this cartoon book by Oren Ginzburg about development and indigenous peoples in my email this morning…There you go! http://www.survivalinternational.org/thereyougo

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a comment

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5 other subscribers